



## **MEDIA RELEASE**

24 May 2018

## VICTORIA'S RAVENHALL PRISON PROJECT NAMED AUSTRALIA'S BEST **INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT**

Victoria's \$670 million Ravenhall Prison Project has been named as Australia's best infrastructure project at Infrastructure Partnerships Australia's National Infrastructure Awards, in Melbourne tonight.

"It is exciting to see the Ravenhall Prison Project win the Project of the Year Award as it is the first privately delivered prison project Victoria has seen in about 20 years - delivered on-budget and on-time," said IPA Chief Executive Adrian Dwyer.

"The Ravenhall Prison Project fundamentally transforms the way that support is provided to people in the justice system in Victoria.

"In a Victorian first, the proponents will oversee all elements of the prison's operations, including custodial services, with performance targets to directly reduce the rate of recidivism.

"Australia is a world leader in bringing together the public and private sectors through Public Private Partnerships (PPPs) to deliver better outcomes for the community.

"The Ravenhall Prison Project is a stellar example of the evolution of the PPP model in Australia and shows what can be achieved when the public and private sectors collaborate to achieve good outcomes.

"I pass on my congratulations to the winners of the Project of the Year Award tonight," Mr Dwyer said.

Proponents involved in the Ravenhall Prison Project: AECOM, Clayton Utz, EY, RPS Advisory Services, The GEO consortium comprising: Capella Capital, GEO Group Australia, John Holland and Honeywell; and the Victorian Department of Justice and Regulation.

## **MEDIA CONTACT:**

Michael Player 0424 698 189; Mitch Dudley 0430 003 137





## **About the National Infrastructure Awards:**

The National Infrastructure Awards are convened by Infrastructure Partnerships Australia each year, recognising excellence in public administration and business, across major projects. The Project of the Year is the most prestigious of the Awards.

The Awards were overseen by an independent judging panel, comprising:

- Ms Leilani Frew, Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure Project and Financing Agency (Chair);
- Ms Kim Curtain, Executive Director, Head of Infrastructure and Structured Finance Unit, NSW Treasury;
- Dr Steven Kennedy PSM, Secretary, Federal Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development;
- Mr Philip Davies, Chief Executive, Infrastructure Australia; and
- Mr Neil Scales, Director-General, Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads;
  and