



MEDIA RELEASE

2018 NATIONAL INFRASTRUCTURE AWARD WINNERS

The winners and finalists for each category in the 2018 National Infrastructure Awards are outlined below:

1. PROJECT OF THE YEAR: RAVENHALL PRISON PROJECT

Winner/s: AECOM, Clayton Utz, EY, RPS Advisory Services, The GEO consortium comprising: Capella Capital, GEO Group Australia, John Holland and Honeywell; Victorian Department of Justice and Regulation.

Finalists:

- Optus Stadium (Clayton Utz, Herbert Smith Freehills, MinterEllison, PwC, The Westadium Consortium comprising: Aberdeen Standard Investments, Brookfield Global Integrated Solutions, John Laing and Multiplex Engineering and Infrastructure; Western Australian Government).
- Sunshine Coast University Hospital (Aurecon, Queensland Department of Health, The Exemplar Health Consortium comprising: Capella Capital, Lendlease, Siemens and Spotless)

2. CONTRACTOR EXCELLENCE AWARD: BENDIGO HOSPITAL PROJECT

Winner: Lendlease.

Finalists:

- CityLink Tulla Widening (CPB Contractors).
- Moreton Bay Rail (CPB Contractors).
- O-Bahn City Access Project (McConnell Dowell).

3. WOMEN'S ACHIEVEMENT IN INFRASTRUCTURE: MARIKA CALFAS, CHIEF EXECUTIVE **OFFICER, NSW PORTS**

Marika Calfas has been awarded the 2018 Women's Achievement in infrastructure award, recognising her outstanding reputation across both the public and private sectors.

Marika is presently leading reform of the sector through her involvement in the National Freight and Supply Chain Inquiry and brings great discipline and leadership to an extremely complex policy area.







4. ADVISORY EXCELLENCE AWARD: BAPTISTCARE - SOCIAL AND AFFORDABLE HOUSING **FUND**

Winner/s: Corrs Chambers Westgarth, KPMG.

Finalists:

- Metro Tunnel (Allens, Capella Capital, Herbert Smith Freehills, KPMG, MinterEllison, White & Case).
- New Grafton Correctional Centre (Corrs Chambers Westgarth, Herbert Smith Freehills, KPMG, Macquarie Capital, MinterEllison).

5. FINANCIAL EXCELLENCE AWARD: WESTERN ROADS UPGRADE

Winner/s: EY, KPMG, Plenary Group.

Finalists:

- AquaSure \$766 million Samurai Debt Refinancing (MUFG).
- Herston Quarter Redevelopment (EY, KPMG, Planum Partners).
- Long Term Lease of Sunshine Coast Airport to Palisade Investment Partners (Gresham Partners, Palisade Investment Partners and RBC Capital Markets).

6. GOVERNMENT PARTNERSHIP EXCELLENCE AWARD: GOLD COAST LIGHT RAIL STAGE **2 EXTENSION**

Winner/s: City of Gold Coast, Commonwealth Government; GoldLinQ Consortium comprising: Bombardier, CPB Contractors and Keolis Downer, Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads.

Finalists:

- Bowen Water Treatment Plant Solar Array and Electrical Upgrade (Queensland Government, Tailored Energy Solutions, Whitsunday Regional Council).
- Fit for the Future (Level Crossing Removal Authority, Metro Trains Melbourne, Public Transport Victoria, Transport for Victoria, Victorian Government).
- Reliance Rail Refinancing (NSW Treasury, Reliance Rail comprising: AMP Capital and Downer EDI; Sydney Trains, Transport for NSW).
- Western Roads Upgrade (Netflow Western Roads Upgrade consortium comprising: Broadspectrum, Cintra and Plenary Group; VicRoads, Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance, Victorian Government)







7. OPERATOR AND SERVICE PROVIDER EXCELLENCE AWARD: MR4 MELBOURNE RAIL FRANCHISE PROJECT

Winners: Metro Trains Melbourne comprising: John Holland, MTR Corporation and UGL Rail.

Finalists:

CityLink Incident Management Transition Project (Transurban, Ventia)

8. SMART INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT: NONLINEAR CHANNEL OPTIMISATION SIMULATOR (NCOS) ONLINE

Winner: Port of Brisbane, DHI Australia.

Finalists:

- Queensland Electric Super Highway (QESH) Phase 1 (Energy Queensland, Queensland Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning, Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads).
- SA Water Adelaide CBD Smart Water Network (Allwater, SA Water, Suez, The University of Adelaide).

<ENDS>

About the National Infrastructure Awards:

The National Infrastructure Awards are convened by Infrastructure Partnerships Australia each year, recognising excellence in public administration and business, across major projects.

The Awards were overseen by an independent judging panel, comprising:

- Ms Leilani Frew, Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure Project and Financing Agency (Chair);
- Ms Kim Curtain, Executive Director, Head of Infrastructure and Structured Finance Unit, NSW Treasury;
- Dr Steven Kennedy, Secretary, Federal Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development;
- Mr Philip Davies, Chief Executive, Infrastructure Australia;
- Mr Neil Scales, Director-General, Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads;
- Mr David Webster, Deputy Secretary, Commercial Division, Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance.

MEDIA CONTACTS:

Michael Player 0424 698 189; Mitch Dudley 0430 003 137