



## SYDNEY METRO NORTHWEST NAMED INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT OF THE YEAR FOR 2020

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - 4 DECEMBER 2020

The Sydney Metro Northwest in NSW has been named 2020 Infrastructure Project of the Year at <u>Infrastructure</u> <u>Partnerships Australia's</u> National Infrastructure Awards in Sydney.

"It is exciting to see Sydney Metro Northwest win the Project of the Year Award as it truly has been a gamechanger for Sydney's transport network," said Infrastructure Partnerships Australia Chief Executive, Adrian Dwyer.

"Sydney Metro Northwest provided an unparalleled catalytic investment in Australia's largest city and redefines the future of rail in this country.

"This project is not just concrete and steel – it is a continental first – and will be long admired in the history of Australian infrastructure projects.

"Sydney Metro Northwest delivered Australia's first driverless trains, first fully accessible railway, and an Australian-first customer safety technology.

"The Judging Panel recognised the project for the complexity of its engineering construction, including a range of unprecedented and elegant solutions to major challenges.

"The success of the project built a strong social licence for future stages of the Sydney Metro program, and paved the way for other major metro projects in other parts of the country.

"The judges also recognised the complexity of the project's innovative approach to solving challenges, and genuine partnership between government, contractors, operators, and advisers.

"I pass on my congratulations to the winners of the Project of the Year Award," Mr Dwyer said.

Award recipients: AECOM, Clayton Utz, CPB Contractors, Dragados, EY, Jacobs, John Holland Group, Sydney Metro, Turner & Townsend, Webuild, and Northwest Rapid Transit comprising CPB Contractors, John Holland Group, MTR Corporation, Plenary Group, UGL Rail Services

Infrastructure Partnerships Australia is the nation's infrastructure think tank, providing independent policy research focused on excellence in social and economic infrastructure.





## About the National Infrastructure Awards

The National Infrastructure Awards are convened by Infrastructure Partnerships Australia each year, recognising excellence in public administration and business, across major projects. The Project of the Year is the most prestigious of the Awards.

The Awards were overseen by an independent judging panel, comprising:

- Leilani Frew | Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure Project Financing Agency (Chair)
- Kim Curtain | Deputy Secretary, NSW Treasury (Chair)
- Jason Loos | Deputy Secretary, Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance
- Neil Scales OBE | Director-General, Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads
- Mike Mrdak AO | Former Secretary, Department of Communications and the Arts, and
- Sir Rod Eddington AO | Chair, Infrastructure Partnerships Australia.

## MEDIA CONTACT:

Michael Player 0424 698 189