Policy Taskforces

Energy Taskforce

Chair: Cameron Evans | Chief Executive Officer, Enwave Australia 
Deputy Chair: Caroline Taylor | Head of Public Policy, TransGrid

The Energy Taskforce drives Infrastructure Partnerships Australia’s policy agenda associated with the challenges and opportunities arising from changes in demand across Australia’s domestic energy market, including the need to accommodate new approaches to energy generation. The Taskforce continues to advocate for the next wave of reform in the energy sector, with a particular focus on encouraging greater competitive tension and efficiencies. Amongst the myriad of announcements and media speculation associated with the electricity market, the Taskforce provides an opportunity for members to gain reliable insights into the current ‘energy crisis’ and greater perspective on the future of Australia’s energy mix.


Water Taskforce

Chair: Francois Gouws | Managing Director, TRILITY

The Water Taskforce examines the key challenges and required reforms to ensure a secure, sustainable and efficiently priced water supply – with a key emphasis on market structure reform. In particular, the Taskforce considers opportunities for greater private sector engagement in delivering innovative and value-for-money solutions that better position the sector to meet future risk and demand pressures. Taskforce members have the opportunity to share information and provide input to decision makers.


Taxation Taskforce

Chair: Jock McCormack | Partner – Head of Tax Australia, DLA Piper
Deputy Chair: Mike Davidson | Partner, Corporate Tax, PwC
Deputy Chair: Minh Dao | Partner, Deal Advisory Tax, KPMG

The Taxation Taskforce continually engages with policy and law makers on the implementation and impact of taxation reforms as they affect infrastructure project development, financing and investment. The Taskforce is committed to proposing practical solutions to overcoming tax impediments and disincentives that discourage investment in Australian infrastructure projects. Recent work of the Taskforce has included working with policymakers on issues related to stapled structures, Managed Investment Trusts, Collective Investment Vehicles, and negative control.


Transport Taskforce

Chair: Ken Kanofski 
Deputy Chair: Sal Petroccitto | Chief Executive Officer, National Heavy Vehicle Regulator

The Transport Taskforce develops Infrastructure Partnerships Australia’s transport policy agenda through a strong focus on reform toward efficient transport markets. Recent work by the Taskforce has focussed on road user charging and transport infrastructure investment, competition in public transport service delivery and the reform of modal decision making frameworks. Important policy areas to be examined over the next year include urban freight market reform; transport infrastructure investment and governance frameworks; continuation of the long-term transport planning policy agenda and the development of enhanced appraisal methodologies to capture the true value of infrastructure. Taskforce members attend to broaden their understanding of the Transport sector and provide their expertise on work relevant to their role.


Social Infrastructure & Services Taskforce

Chair: Amy Brown | Deputy Secretary, Strategy & Delivery, NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet
Deputy Chair: Sarah Winter | Partner, Human Services and Community Infrastructure, Commercial Advisory, Deloitte

The Social Infrastructure & Services Taskforce is committed to promoting best practice in the procurement and delivery of social infrastructure projects and the reform of infrastructure based services in areas including education, health, justice and public housing. The Taskforce is committed to encouraging innovation and efficiency; ensuring consistent, high quality services and value-for-money outcomes to the Australian community and government. As much of the social infrastructure pipeline is often less visible than other sectors, the taskforce provides much needed insight to the membership about upcoming projects, opportunities and governments’ reform agenda in public services.


InfraTech Taskforce

Chair: Patrick Sieb
Deputy Chair: Stephanie Salter | Director, Future Transport Digital Accelerator, Transport for NSW
Deputy Chair: Nicholas Carney | Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills

The formation of the InfraTech Taskforce recognises that simply building new assets is not sufficient to solve Australia’s infrastructure challenges. Through the InfraTech Taskforce Infrastructure Partnerships Australia aims to explore ways to support greater technological and business model innovation to increase productivity from existing assets. The Taskforce will focus on educating the sector about developments and opportunities in infrastructure technology. Areas of interest to be examined by the Taskforce include energy storage and renewables, telecommunications, water, waste, social infrastructure, smart grids and networks, construction and design, mobility as a service, as well as freight and logistics.



If you are interested in finding out more about our taskforces or wish to register, please contact us at: 

E: [email protected]