



## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## WESTCONNEX TRANSACTION NAMED AUSTRALIA'S BEST **INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT FOR 2019**

The WestConnex Transaction in NSW has been named Australia's best infrastructure project for 2019 at Infrastructure Partnerships Australia's National Infrastructure Awards, in Melbourne tonight.

"It is exciting to see the WestConnex Transaction win the Project of the Year Award as it is one of the most unique and complex M&A transactions in Australia's history," said Infrastructure Partnerships Australia Chief Executive, Adrian Dwyer.

"The WestConnex Transaction was a once in a generation deal for the people of NSW and will set the state up for years to come.

"The deal generated a remarkable \$9.2bn for NSW taxpayers, enabling the NSW Government to turbocharge its already high levels of infrastructure investment.

"The sale of 51 per cent of Sydney Motorway Corporation, the company delivering WestConnex, was conducted as a three-stage competitive trade sale process and attracted widespread interest from domestic and global investors and toll-road operators.

"The Transaction was unique because it impacted almost every part of the infrastructure sector, across procurement, construction and financing, and represented a genuine partnership of private and public sector players.

"I pass on my congratulations to the winners of the Project of the Year Award tonight," Mr Dwyer said.

Proponents involved in the WestConnex Transaction include NSW Treasury and Transport for NSW (Roads and Maritime Services) and their advisors; and Sydney Transport Partners (Transurban, AustralianSuper, Canadian Pension Plan Investment Board, and Tawreed Investments) and their advisors.

## **MEDIA CONTACT:**

Michael Player 0424 698 189; Mitch Dudley 0430 003 137





## **About the National Infrastructure Awards:**

The National Infrastructure Awards are convened by Infrastructure Partnerships Australia each year, recognising excellence in public administration and business, across major projects. The Project of the Year is the most prestigious of the Awards.

The Awards were overseen by an independent judging panel, comprising:

- Ms Leilani Frew, Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure Project and Financing Agency (Chair)
- Ms Kim Curtain, Interim Deputy Secretary, Trade, Tourism, Investment and Precincts, NSW Treasury
- Dr Steven Kennedy PSM, Secretary, Federal Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
- Mr Jason Loos, Director, Department of Treasury and Finance, Victoria, and
- Mr Neil Scales, Director-General, Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads.